Skip Navigation
Welcome to the official website for the Town of Melbourne Beach, Florida
This table is used for column layout.
On Our Site

Town Seal

Mayor and Town Commission
Contact TypeContact Information
507 Ocean Avenue 
Melbourne Beach ,FL 32951 
(321) 724-5860
(321) 984-8994
Mayor & Commissioners
Mayor Jim Simmons
Vice Mayor Margot Dorfman
Commissioner Tom Davis
Commissioner Gail Gowdy
Commissioner Steve Walters

*See below to read Mayor & Commission bios and email*
Elected Officials (Click for Bio)
Term of Office
11/2018 (appointed to fill term until 11/2016)

Photo Left to Right:  Commissioner Tom Davis, Vice-Mayor Margot Dorfman, Mayor Jim Simmons, Commissioner Gail Gowdy.  Absent from photo is Commissioner Steve Walters.

The Town of Melbourne Beach operates under a Commission-Manager form of municipal government. The Town Commission consists of five members: the Mayor, elected as such and four Commissioners-at-Large. Each Commissioner and the Mayor are elected for three year terms. The Vice Mayor is elected annually by the Commission.

The Town Commission appoints a Town Manager, Town Clerk and Town Attorney. The Town Manager is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Town - supervisor and manager of all public business and affairs of the Town - under the direction and supervision of the Town Commission. The Town Clerk is the Clerk of the Commission, Chief Elections Officer and custodian of all Town records, books and documents. The Town Attorney is the legal advisor and attorney to the officers of the Town in matters affecting the Town; prepares and endorses written instruments in which the Town is concerned; and performs other duties as the Commission may require.

All other employees of the Town are under the Direction of the Town Manager.

Link to PageLink to Page
Additional Links:
Link to PageLink to PageLink to Page

Town of Melbourne Beach 507 Ocean Ave., Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Website Disclaimer        Powered by Virtual Towns & Schools
Services provided by e-City Services LLC